Skip to content

Angryness and response

June 13, 2010

I am writing this post in a full mood of angryness. I am very very short tempered. I usually do not get angry when I am alone. If I do get angry when I am alone, the reason will be due to someone or something that I do not have control over.  Angryness is completely induced or observed by us. Situations and states of the world are right in front of us. It completely depends only upon ourselves to become angry or not. We do not have control over anything that happens around us. But we have complete control and freedom over what action we choose and how we respond. As, Victor Frankl says in his book Man’s Search for Meaning,

“Everything can be taken from a man but …the last of the human freedoms – to choose one’s attitude in any given set of circumstances, to choose one’s own way.A man who becomes conscious of the responsibility he bears toward a human being who affectionately waits for him, or to an unfinished work, will never be able to throw away his life. He knows the “why” for his existence, and will be able to bear almost any ‘how’! ”

The whole point and philosophy of dealing situations, he describes here.

Anyway, when I get angry, by angry I mean real angry, as opposed to fake angry, where I do not really get angry, but the outer shell of myself thinks I am angry and acts accordingly, ok wait.

When I really get angry, I usually get more productive. (proof: this blog post :P). I am at full concentration level, eyes wide open, heart beat slightly above normal, and at the same time planning very carefully each step I need to make to overcome the problem. I begin to analyse all holes in the solution and perfectly correct them. I become more alert. This somewhat adds to the “Oh, I am actually useful!” factor in me. Increases my self confidence.

I get idea sparks when I plan angryily. Some conclusions I arrive at, do stay in memory for a long time and come back to me when I meet a similar situation later.

Alright, I am a little okay now.

Well, I have seen a lot of people do weird things when they get angry. I think, they do things weird not because of angryness at that point, but due to all kinds of thoughts, ego, emotions about the people involved in the situation that made him or her angry. I never act weird or do public stunts when I get angry. Usually, no one can guess if I am angry because, I happen to have a grave look always. It is like someone is playing an “Attack Release” game with me.

After it fades away, I am able to sleep peacefully and if the angryness lasts till the morning (problem not solved), I am able to wake up with full concentration. Actually, angryness is useful in someway.

As they say, “Circumstances do not reveal a man, they make him”. I completely agree with it. They way we choose to respond and react, makes us who we are.

I have more to tell about circumstances. I will continue in the next post.

Have a great day!

ManoRanjan

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

